Ganassi and Dixon win Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge

Chip Ganassi Racing’s No. 9 team and Scott Dixon took down Team Penske and Will Power in the final of the Pit Stop Challenge, ahead of Sunday’s 107th running of the Indianapolis 500.

Round 1 saw the No. 9 CGR crew and Dixon set the fastest time, eclipsing Callum Ilott and Juncos Hollinger Racing by 2.4s. CGR’s 12.066s was almost half a second up on the previous best, set by Power and the No. 12 Penske crew.

Poor Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, running the No. 24 now piloted by Graham Rahal, produced a pit stop time while losing to Power that would have eclipsed all but Dixon in Round 1. Then in Round 2, Power rubbed it in by defeating the other DRR car of Ryan Hunter-Reay, which had already beaten Arrow McLaren and Pato O’Ward.

Rinus VeeKay and Ed Carpenter Racing took down Kyle Kirkwood and Andretti Autosport, but was then defeated in Round 2 by Jack Harvey of Rahal Letterman Lanigan, when he slid through the artificial pitbox. Harvey had already had his

Full Story »

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments